Building a DDR pad into the floor

I feel there needs to be some fun activities placed into our future home. ๐Ÿ™‚ Both Daniel and I are “children of heart” and tend to find glee in the endless abundance which surrounds us, of what is called life. In the past, I used to play DDR (Dance Dance Revolution) for many years.. Eight years straight to be exact. ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚ We are both avid lovers of dancing; several traditional styles and free style ๐Ÿ™‚

To our delight, we have found a well done step-by-step layoutย upon the subject. โค

Daniel’s facebook wall-post:

Iris asked me a few minutes ago if I might get Windows again once we’re settled in, and join her video game. (We used to play together when I had both operating systems on an old computer.) I said if we had to buy something to play anyway, I’d rather get a physical game like DDR (Dance Dance Revolution). Now I’m planning to build a DDR pad into our future floor. But Iris will paint some animals onto the buttons, instead of boring arrows. Our house will be an interesting blend of old-fashioned and modern, and it keeps evolving.

Link on how to make a wooden DDR pad from scratch:ย 
http://www.instructables.com/id/Inexpensive-Hard-DDRStepmania-Dance-Pad-Controller/

We plan to embed it into the cob floor (in the main first floor hall) and connect the DDR pad into a laptop. Sometime in the nearby future, after I finish sculpting a small structure of the Butterfly Forests Homestead, I shall watercolor/draw a visual of the DDR pad. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

